Saturday, October 14, 2017

Indian Loco Pilot Test: Educational Requirements, How to Apply Details

To be a loco pilot in India, one has to pass the Assistant loco pilot test conducted by the Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) of India. There is no direct test or exam for becoming a loco pilot directly. One can only become a loco pilot after being an assistant loco pilot for at least 2 years.

If you have acquired a two years of experience being a loco pilot, railway will appoint you as loco pilot based on the vacancies available. There are 4 categories of loco pilots.

They are
1.Loco pilots of passenger
2.Loco pilot of goods
3.Loco pilot of mail/express
4.Loco pilot of Metro trains

The candidate has to qualify the written test first and after that there will be an interview. If both interview and written test is qualified by the candidate, the railway board will call for a job training.
Once the training is over, the candidate will be posted as assistant loco pilot by the railway board.

After becoming loco pilot one can be promoted to Senior loco pilot. After being a Senior loco pilot, if interested one can become Crew Controller, Power Controller, Loco Foreman etc. by writing the railway departmental exams.

Educational Requirements Needed for applying to Indian Railway Loco pilot test

The candidate who wish to apply for Loco pilot exams, should have completed

  • Tenth standard education or Equivalent  with
  • a 2 year diploma/3 year diploma/Degree in engineering (can be electrical, mechanical, electronics automobile )

Age Limit for Railway Loco pilot Exam

The candidate should have completed 18 years of age and should not have age more than 30 years. The reserved category candidates will get age relaxation as per rules. The age is calculated according to the date January 1, 2017.

Salary after Railway Loco Pilot Examination

The salary of loco pilot assistant is Rs.5200-20,200.
The initial pay is Rs.5830.
Grade pay available is Rs.1900.

For Loco pilot job, railway offers various allowances too. They are:

  • House allowance
  • Night Duty allowance
  • Running allowance
  • Transport allowance
  • Dearness allowance