Saturday, May 27, 2017

Planets in the Solar system

The total number of planets in our solar system is eight. The planet nearest to earth is Mercury. The farthest planet from the sun is Neptune.The planets arranged in order of their distance from sun starting from nearest to farthest is Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

The planets arranged in the order of their masses is Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Earth, Venus, Mars and Mercury.The largest planet in the solar system is Jupiter. The second largest planet is Saturn. According to the size, the position of earth in the solar system is five. The smallest planet is Mercury. the planet with year duration least is Mercury.

Messenger is the mission that was launched by NASA to study about the planet Mercury in August 2004. The planet nearest to earth is Venus. The planet which reflects most sunlight is Venus.

The planet known as the 'blue planet' is earth.The planet with highest density is earth. The age of earth is 454000000 years. The average temperature on the surface of earth is 14 degree Celsius.

The planet which has highest gravitational pull is Jupiter. The planet which is third in its size is Uranus. The planet which was first discovered by telescope is Uranus. William Hershel discovered Uranus in 1781.

The person who discovered Pluto, which was once considered as a planet is Clyde Tombo. Now Pluto is considered as a dwarf planet. Iris is the largest dwarf planet. The planet with only one satellite is Earth.